ISO 22000:2018 Food Safety Management Systems (FSMS) Requirements Malaysia | Food Hygiene Regulations & Guidelines

What are the changes in ISO 22000: 2018?

Meaning of ISO 22000: 2018

The ISO 22000 family of International Standards addresses food safety management.

ISO 22000:2018, Food Safety Management Systems (FSMS) provide requirements for any organization in the food chain and sets out the requirements for a food safety management system. It defines what an organization must do to demonstrate its ability to control food safety hazards and ensure that food is safe for consumption.

The consequences of unsafe food can be serious and ISO’s food safety management standards help organizations identify and control food safety hazards. As many of today's food products repeatedly cross national boundaries, International Standards are needed to ensure the safety of the global food supply chain.

Keeping food safe from farm to fork by ensuring hygienic practices and traceability at every step of the supply chain are essential tasks for the food industry .

The purpose of ISO 22000

ISO 22000:2018 sets out the requirements for a food safety management system and can be certified to. It maps out what an organization needs to do to demonstrate its ability to control food safety hazards in order to ensure that food is safe. It can be used by any organization regardless of its size or position in the food chain.


Why was ISO 22000 revised?

ISO 22000:2018 encompasses the latest trends and food safety requirements, and is a timely response to the rising global challenges facing the food industry. It will also help address the growing need to ensure we can trust current food security systems and that they are sustainable. Since the first publication of ISO 22000 in 2005, users along the supply chain have been facing new food safety challenges. Hence, urging a need for the standard to be revised.

It is normal process for an ISO standard to be revised. In fact, every 5 years standards are reviewed to determine whether a revision is necessary, to ensure that the standards remain as relevant and useful to businesses as possible.

All ISO standards are reviewed and revised regularly to make sure they remain relevant to the marketplace.

ISO 22000:2018 includes improvements to definitions, including those that align with Codex Alimentarius. It also provides a new understanding of the concept of risk, distinguishing between risk at the operational level and the strategic level of a management system.

What are the main changes to the standard?

The major proposed changes to the standard include modifications to its structure as well as clarifying key concepts such as:

The high level structure:

  • in order to make life easier for businesses using more than one management system standard, the new version of ISO 22000 will follow the same structure as all the other ISO management system standards, the High Level Structure (HLS).

The risk approach:

  • the standard now includes a different approach to understanding risk.

The PDCA cycle:

  • the standard clarifies the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle, by having two separate cycles in the standard working together which are covering:

    1. the management system
    2. the principles of HACCP

The operation process:

  • a clear description is given of the differences between key terms such as: Critical Control Points (CCPs), Operational Prerequisite Programmes (OPRPs) and Prerequisite Programmes (PRPs).

That said, implementing the standard requirements to ensure the collection of policies, procedures, processes and records meet the needs of the company and their customers while allowing for improvement of the system is not an easy process but an important one. Let Magcolm Solutions help you and your business to implement FSMS together as it benefits the company in the long run.

Ready to Make the Leap?

We're Here to Hold Your Hands. Let's Chat.